A step in the right direction for my confidence :-)

Discussion in 'Confidence Club' started by Auqeam, Jun 19, 2011.

1. Auqeam

Auqeam New Member

Hey all, i'm a returner to NR (thanks to Laceyfreckle!) but just had to share my horsey news because i'm so excited!

I used to share, i'm a novice rider though and a bit of a nervous rider too, so after giving up my share (he was far too forward going for me sadly :() I took a break from riding for a year then decided to have proper lessons a year ago, so I ride once a fortnight with my OH as he wanted to learn too.

But now we've been offered a share, each, with a wonderful lady on a private yard. It's just her and her 3 horses, and we met her today, she let us groom and watch them being ridden and then we mounted and did some poles and stuff in the field (I rode like a plum but she didn't seem to mind lol), before she took us off for a lovely hour hack round the local bridleways (of which there are loads!). Poor lady and her friend got soaked but she was so lovely, and she wanted us to see how we felt etc and to see how well behaved they are. We were there for 4 hours in the end! We were looking for sane, non-spooky rides and they certainly delivered, as we just want to potter about, bit of trotting here and there but mostly just walking to get our confidence up. It was my OH's first ever proper hack out and he did amazingly! We are both going to carry on with the fortnightly lessons aswell.

So we are going to start by just doing a bit in the field on one horse, so one of us is on the ground at all times, then go for a stroll out in the same way until we're both ready to ride together. This will help give me confidence, and my OH too. And even better, it is less than 5 mins drive from mine :dance:

Am hoping that this will finally give me some confidence to enjoy hacking again! sorry for the long pointless post but no-one else quite understands :giggle: