Broken trailer :( gutted

Discussion in 'Transport and Travelling' started by juliecwuk, May 18, 2011.

1. juliecwuk

juliecwuk Well-Known Member

Soooo I have been using my trailer loads since buying it a couple of months ago :) I had noticed occasional 'thudding' from the trailer into my car if anything other than gentle slowing, so I rang the trailer guy a few days back and he thinks there's something wrong with the 'piston' but can't fit me in for about 3 weeks, he said carry on as usual on small journeys for the time being.

Took a friend to a comp this eve, on the way back my car started smelling, it felt laboured etc.

I am worried that the brakes came on as such and made the car have to work harder...(although if this was the case surely u would have really known it?!?) or my car is broken - which is worse as it will be more expensive to fix :(

Am gutted though as we had planned for months to go to a specific funride on sun, but no-one else has a 510 sized trailer on the yard :(

No point to the thread, just moaning :(

2. domane

domane Well-Known Member

Oh poo! By "piston" does he mean that joint that moves behind the tow-ball connector? If it has seized on, then I guess it would mean that the brakes are working permanently. Can you not give the area a good spray with WD40 in the meantime to see if that free's it up a bit?

Or mebbe try to find another trailer fixer who can do the work sooner?

3. juliecwuk

juliecwuk Well-Known Member

yeh that 'piston' - not sure what its actually called....

tbh i am not too keen on using it until its repaired as i know it was dodgy before last night....i doubt i will be able to get someone out to look at it before the weekend and i dont want to tow it anywhere because if the brakes are on then they are screwed now (boo hoo more money to repair). will have a ring around though!