Confidence issues = novice

Discussion in 'Confidence Club' started by shockblue, May 26, 2011.

1. shockblue

shockblue New Member

Recently I have been quite open about my nerves. I think it's the only way I can deal with them by acknowledging them and just taking everyday (most of them I have an inner argument with myself about selling and giving up) as it comes good and bad. I find giving my self a plan helps.

Maya is 5 this year. She's hardly done anything! People often question this and I just tell them simply it's my nerves. They then assume that I'm a novice and proceed to give me advice or ask what Maya is doing to make me nervous.

She is a lovely pony and she doesn't do anything in particular that scares me. She is better to handle and is turning into a real partner. I'm very proud of her. I just come to a complete mind block when the saddle goes on!

I just get frustrated when people assume I don't know what I'm doing :( I've had horses all my life, I'm a great rider and a great handler. I've put a lot of time into training and preparing her all her life.

Does anyone else find that people just assume you are a novice rider when you say to them you are struggling with nerves?

2. Vicki100

Vicki100 Active Member

Can totally emphisise with you, when i was really nervous with riding Finn i used to get the whole 'do this' 'do that' 'do you need help' its really annoying when you dont even ask for it.

And when i was on the 'lead rien' with OH holding us people used to look at us and think i was a total beginner, where infact ive ridden for 10+ years and know exactly what im doing.

At the end of the day just ignore other people, you clearly know what your doing and there is absolutly no rush at the end of the day. Maya has got plenty of years to come for riding.

I think the way your doing things is much better, she will be a much better riding horse in the future for all the ground work your putting in! :biggrin: