Group lesson, individual or both?

Discussion in 'New Riders' started by Calluna, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Calluna

Calluna Active Member

I want to re-inivgorate my riding lessons. So far I've had private lessons, but the last couple I felt that I didn't get enough "coaching" really.

I have been mulling it over. I spent quite a long time choosing the RI to teach me to ride (complete beginner) only to find that she left the RS after I'd had two lessons! (Grrr...) I've had a two different girls at the RS teach me since then, but to be honest, the lesson I felt I got the most out of in terms of explanation and "teaching" was given by a girl covering for her friend and not a regular instructor.

So, I was thinking that it would be good to do a group lesson, so that I could watch how others were corrected and taught as well as thinking about what I'm trying to do, though I missed out on this weeks one because I left it late to book and it had filled up. DUH! But it would be saddle time and an opportunity to try and practice what I've been taught so far...

The alternative I suppose would be to change my day, as that would probably automatically mean I got a different RI who might coach more.

What do you think? I know there have to be periods of consolidation whenever you learn something new and a private lesson is expensive practice. Would a group lesson be equally as valuable in a different way?

2. Joyscarer

Joyscarer Active Member

One of the things I hated when I returned to riding was having a different instructor each time. I found and instructor I liked and booked my private lessons specifically to be taught by her. I made it plain in the office that I wanted continuity of teaching at this stage in my riding.

Having said all that though, I am very self concious and lacked confidence in myself and my riding.