Halt - confused???

Discussion in 'Training of the Horse and Rider' started by gallop_on, Dec 12, 2006.

1. gallop_on

gallop_on New Member

I am unsure as to which is the correct way to get my horse to halt. I have had two instructors tell me two different ways over a period of time.

One had asked me to sink all my weight, breath out and make my tummy expand. This is hard for me as I have very straight posture with my tummy tucked in and feels really uncomfortable.

The other way Ive been instructed is to pull my tummy muscles in as if Im trying to make them touch my spine.

I find that his head goes up and he tends to take a few steps before he stops. I am not heavy with my hands and I do not tug on the reins. I always prefer to use my seat. I make sure that I am looking ahead and not down at him.

Which is right? Does anyone have other ideas. The only problem is that because I am unsure and have tried both ways since I started riding my horse he has become confused and it can take a few tries before he actually stops. He does not repond to one way or the other imediatley. Not good I know. Any ideas?

Thanks

2. coss

coss Schooling fan

i always sink into the saddle more and just slow my movements more and just make it feel like your just tryin to hold everything together. i have never heard the way your first instructor said [​IMG]
    Never make your seat heavy though, there is a difference between sinking into the saddle and sitting into the saddle... if you sink into the saddle, you deepen your seat and you can just continue in sitting trot, if you want to walk then start to move your hips in a more walky way (if that makes sense).
    the latter would hollow the horse but your boy could just be resisting the transition anyway. Just make your body soft in the transition and do lots of transitions so they aren't so stressful (not that i'm saying your horse is stessed :))

3. Jessey

Jessey Well-Known Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Not sure :eek: