PDA

View Full Version : Weird email replies to my 'horse for sale' ad


pmcc
2nd Nov 2009, 06:40 PM
:confused:
have advertised my horse for sale last night and got two weird emails today that seem to be maybe computer generated like some kind of scam.
Has anyone else come across this?????????

on the second one I have removed the name and just put name in.

e.g
Hello Seller,
As Regarding you advert for a(horse)sale.A client of mine is interested in purchasing it.I would like to know the actual price you are offering to sell it and also it's present condition.Also the mode of payment which he would be using would be by a Certified Check and also shipping arrangment would be made with a reliable and capable shipping company who can handle the shippment.
Best Of Regards...Await your swift response


Hello.

This is just to let you to know that i came across your advert on the
website and I'm

very interested in buying it from you. I'll like you to kindly write
back if you still have it

for sale and what is your final price? Also I'll really appreciate it
if you can send me

some recent pictures. Meanwhile i live in England , but I will like
you to know that I will

personally take care of the shipping of the down to my location.

Thank you.

Mail.name.name600@gmail.com

Regards,

name

Ceiron
2nd Nov 2009, 06:43 PM
they are both scam emails, ignore them

eventerbabe
2nd Nov 2009, 06:50 PM
definately a scam. delete them and forget them ;) i got loads when advertising my saddles.

Cortrasna
2nd Nov 2009, 06:50 PM
yes they are scams had them when I sold my last 2 - so b****y annoying isnt it?:mad:

Had a thought about your sale yesterday - will pm you;)

pmcc
2nd Nov 2009, 06:54 PM
yes they are scams had them when I sold my last 2 - so b****y annoying isnt it?:mad:

Had a thought about your sale yesterday - will pm you;)

no problem, someone coming tomoro night to see him.

shockblue
2nd Nov 2009, 06:56 PM
hehe yes I've had them before. They are usually from Nigeria. I like to toy with them and write back...

"Thank you for the interest in my horse. I got him from the stable last night and one of his fetlocks fell off. He is okay and the other 3 are working well. Do you still want him?"

They usually reply that they do and that they want me to accept a cheque with a large sum of money on it and make up the difference for the price of the horse plus some extra for myself.

popularfurball
2nd Nov 2009, 06:58 PM
When we sold Ellie Mae, we had the second email exactly - Owner rung the number that was on it - they answered in a normal voice and when she said what she was calling on he hesitated and then put on a really strong uncomprehensible asian accent - was very bizarre.

dragzb
2nd Nov 2009, 07:15 PM
hehe yes I've had them before. They are usually from Nigeria. I like to toy with them and write back...

Just a word of advice, its actually better NOT to reply to these emails. Once they've got a reply they have an opportunity to then phish your email account and, unless you have a really good firewall, there's also an opportunity to get all your information and then quick as a flash there's your identity theft. Much wiser to simply ignore and hit the delete key.

pmcc
2nd Nov 2009, 07:17 PM
hehe yes I've had them before. They are usually from Nigeria. I like to toy with them and write back...

"Thank you for the interest in my horse. I got him from the stable last night and one of his fetlocks fell off. He is okay and the other 3 are working well. Do you still want him?"

They usually reply that they do and that they want me to accept a cheque with a large sum of money on it and make up the difference for the price of the horse plus some extra for myself.


hahahaha- pity you couldnt send them a great big virus

yes it is best not to reply just delete

Mimi + Me
2nd Nov 2009, 08:07 PM
You should send them back a very badly worded, with terrible grammar, nonsensical e-mail ........ Honestly what a bunch of losers, they can't possibly think people are stupid enough to fall for it :mad:

pmcc
2nd Nov 2009, 09:23 PM
You should send them back a very badly worded, with terrible grammar, nonsensical e-mail ........ Honestly what a bunch of losers, they can't possibly think people are stupid enough to fall for it :mad:

yes put it through a web langauge translater and then back through again! that should come out making loadsa sense :D

diplomaticandtactful
2nd Nov 2009, 11:13 PM
when i advertised a saddle for sale i got loads of these, just delete them.