Banner Design by Maria McKenna - Click for Home
Click for Home

Go Back   New Rider Message Board > Disciplines > Hacking

Notices

Old 7th Feb 2009, 11:29 AM
just me....

How long before your first hack

not sure if this is the best place maybe should have put under New Riders but anyway:

I started riding Novemeber 2008 and have a 45min private lesson every week when possible, I can walk, trot (sitting or rising) and hault to a reasonable standard I believe not tried canter, gallop or anything though...

So my question is how long do you think it will take me to be able to go out on a hack not alone obviously but with a more experienced rider...

how long was it before you had your first hack?

I enjoy my lessons but just can't wait to reach that day when I can go out with another rider and just go with the flow....

do RS usually do hacks with an RI when your of a good enough standard I never thought to ask them?
Old 7th Feb 2009, 11:47 AM

I used to go for lead rein hacks from the age of about five, was probably about six when I was allowed to hack off the lead rein... that's when my super glue seat was developed!
Old 7th Feb 2009, 02:45 PM

It may be in a couple of weeks for you
Old 7th Feb 2009, 03:03 PM

I learnt to ride on hacks! After a couple of times they let me off the lead rein. (Of course this was *many* years ago...).

I'm sure you'd be fine to go out on a hack now, but it really depends on the policy of your riding school - everyone's so risk averse these days!
Old 7th Feb 2009, 03:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammie View Post
I learnt to ride on hacks! After a couple of times they let me off the lead rein. (Of course this was *many* years ago...).

I'm sure you'd be fine to go out on a hack now, but it really depends on the policy of your riding school - everyone's so risk averse these days!
so did i, bet im younger than you though