Baby steps for me and Flicka

sophie33

Aug 8, 2004
London
As some of you may know, I share a young, green horse called Flicka. I am a middle aged nervous novice. This, I know, sounds like a disaster in the making. But in fact its great. I knew what I was getting into from the beginning and my friend and RI owns Flicka, so I am learning under her supervision. There are two other young confident and competent sharers who are educating Flicka, I am only do tasks which Flicka is already competent at!
Up until today I had only ridden Flicka once - in the school with my RI glued to our side! However, having discussed it with my RI, I am trying to use August to go up a gear and become confident to ride her regularly - albeit in walk in the school! (I know baby steps but there you are)
So at 7 am this morning with RI watching I did the following

1) Get her bridle on. This is difficult! She throws her head up and generally makes it hard! I dreamt about it all night... In my anxiety I initially put the reins and running martingale over head without putting her nose in first- bad start! But after that not too bad. RI held her nose for me and I got one ear through fine. Then the horrendous second ear that was giving me nightmares was fine, she didn't even toss her head!
2) Led her to the school. RI was following behind with her other horse on a lunge line. Not because she intended to ride her but just because Flicka is more relaxed in her company and they are normally turned out together first thing in the morning, so may have started calling to each other if seperated...
Anyway, Flicka spooked dramatically at the little tractor with flapping tarpauline (sp?) outside the school. Instead of firmly tugging the reins I let her drag me and got knocked over. No damage but didnt' help the nerves!