Don't think I'm cut out to be a rider :-(

proudmummy

Jun 9, 2011
Had a few tears today but I've cancelled this weeks riding lessons and said I'm having "some time off". I recently started riding again after 15+ years, not ridden since I was a teenager. I really loved riding and thought I was doing ok. Slowly started losing confidence so I took up private lessons too. I finally dared to canter. Loved it until the riding school horse bolted in the nature reserve where we hack out. I was upset but then the instructors (seperately) started telling me what else I could be spending the (nearly £40 a week) on, holidays, beauty treatments etc. I assume that this is their way of saying I'm wasting their time. I'm a bit gutted as I love horses and enjoyed riding, contrary to what my instructors thought. I told them that I was quitting and they didn't try to persuade me otherwise. Don't know of any riding schools nearby so guess that I'm just not cut out to be a rider :cry: xxx

It sounds like you need to find a new instructor hun! Someone who actually cares about your confidance rarther than the money!

Im sure there someone out there to help you, you might have to travel further from home but its worth it for the right help!

Dont give up just yet!! :smile:

And breathe...

Yes, you could spend the money on getting your hair and nails done but it doesn't sound as though this will make you happy. Where abouts in the country are you and maybe someone on here could suggest another riding school for you to try? maybe one with more sympathic intructors!

If you enjoy spending time with horses, then dont give up just yet:smile:
and look on the bright side, you didnt fall off when the horse took off with you, so your riding cant be that bad!:smile:

Oh god don't do that!

You sound just like me - read far too much into things!!!