Don't think I'm cut out to be a rider :-(

Oh my goodness. No wonder you are feeling low, I would be too! You need an instructor to be encouraging and a good teacher. Please don't give up. I am a total beginner and am finding it difficult but I am determined to carry on and get through the 'basic riding skills' stage. Find another instructor or farm and whatever you do, enjoy what you do know and enjoy your future lessons. You sound very capable to me xxxx :wink:

I sometimes suffer with nerves, and i go home and tell my husband that i would be better off spending the £250 a month which my share horse and lessons cost me and spending it on clothes/holidays etc. He always tells me that nothing makes me more animated than riding and that my life would be very empty without it.

I get such highs and lows from horses. The highs after a good ride/lesson last for days and bring me up and up and up. The lows are very low and make me feel almost depresssed. What i do know is that material things wouldn't bring these ranges of emotion and my life would be boring without them.

I'm glad that you have found somewhere nice to ride, I hope that it continues to go well.

Hi everyone, just a quick update. I went out on a hack yesterday at the new place and we had a good long trot even going round bends. Going to have a canter next week and I'm proud to say I'm looking forward to it :smile: Things happen for a reason don't they. So funny though as I'm friends with some of the girls from the old previous school. One of them said about the horse I used to ride bucking and rearing when she rode him. When I commented on this she said "oh he won't do it to you, it's only because I rode him in the paddock and you don't ride him in the paddock...he could see the horses in the next field..." My reply "I rode him in the paddock last time I came..." Ooops! xxx