Heart Horse or ‘the one’

Juliaa

Julia
Aug 20, 2017
London
i just wanted to here others peoples stories and if I’ve really found the one that’s touched my heart :). I’ve been with horses for around 2 years, so I’m still learning about them. However within 2months I went straight into part share, and feel in love with a mare for her colour, she was gorgeous and suggested for me as she’s ‘adaptable’, I loved her as I’ve been with her a year now, she taught me everything, however I always felt we never ‘clicked’.

However on the same yard was a grey pony, in his 20’s, I didn’t at first like him, he wasn’t affectionate at all. I would go up to him and try stroke his face and he’d pull back or try to nip me (I understand why he pulls away now, not every horse likes hands all over his face). But I always had this doubt about him. Then came the day where I had to ride him, I sat on him, and couldn’t get him to take a step. Everything about this pony made me sighhhh. I kicked, nagged, and hated doing that. When I got off, a different sharer at the yard told me “you’ll never be able to ride him.” Sturbbornly I wanted to prove him wrong, so I’d get on the pony and bit by bit tried to get him to listen to me. I just wanted him to co-operate, and not rebel.

Then I talked to the owner, who sadly doesn’t always ride her horses due to arthritis, she told me no one wants to ride him, and no one wants to take him on. She later that day got on to show me what a wonderful pony he is, she charged him around the arena, like I’ve never seen before. So stubborn me decided, “I’m gonna get that from him. I know he can do it now.” So I was persistent. Until I could finally get him to go with a forward rhythm, he changed drastically,whenever I’d get excited he’d throw in bucks every second.