Hoof crack

nikki.mepham

May 18, 2015
iv been helping a friend with her horses for a few months now and one of them has cracked hoofs , I asked about them and she says they look better then they were when she got him , well tonight when I went to lock up I found him with one of the cracks uploadfromtaptalk1432845767829.pngopened up and at a odd angle :/ what do u guys think ? Iv sent her the pic and she said ok she will get the farrier in , im not sure when she will tho :(
How bad is this ? I'm fairly new to keeping horses
Cheers

I'd say that's a bad crack could easily snap off and leave the horse lame. Mine has crappie feet. I sometimes get the farrier to put a kind of putty into the cracks to hold her feet together . But to be honest they've never been as bad as your picture.

Hi, IMO a farrier asap job. Has he seen a farrier in the last few months as tbh his hoof doesn't look at all even at all, although maybes its the camera angle. I definitely wouldn't ride a horse with a crack like that. x

Reactions: Trewsers
Iv not seen one this bad befor tonight , it was just a crack this morning but now its opened up, iv been telling my friend for weeks she should get the farrier in but as I'm "new" there my view kind of goes unheard :( my friend is going though alot atm so guess her mind is on other things right now , this horse has always had bad hoofs bless him but never like this

Iv been there 4 months and not seen a farrier since iv been there :( he isn't being ridden and I will be making sure she gets a farrier out ASAP this was my fear about his crack that it would open up but as iv said I'm new there and anything I say or question dosnt really get heard :( (hopefully that will change now she has seen what can happen ) the crack has opened up both outwards and apart if the makes sense :(