Shoeing TWH vs. Quarter horse

Rockysquirrel

Oct 29, 2022
I am relatively new to riding and don't know everything there is about them. I know everyone will have a different opinion on shoeing a walking horse for show vs. shoeing about any other type horse. I would like to hear them all. From friends that have been into showing, I've been told they need the long toes on the front. From my farrier I hear that to do it properly they all get the same treatment.

Let me hear everyone else's opinions please.

Hi! You may not get many informed responses to this as the majority of our members are in the UK, though I know @Lollykay will have some well informed views.

As for my uninformed response, many people in the UK (including me) find the US habit of shoeing horses for show with long or heavy shoes designed to exaggerate their way of going to be abhorrent. Many people (including me) think that the question to ask is, "Does this horse, given its level of work and the condition of its feet, need shoeing at all?" And if the answer is yes, it needs shoeing, then the shoes should be chosen to help the horse as much as possible and hinder it as little as possible.

That's my two penn'orth, anyway. Anyone else?

^^^what Jane said!
Just to add, long toes on any horse increases the stress on the tendons and joints at break over, increasing the wear and damage caused by normal life, shortening their useful life. It’s something to be avoided at all costs in my book.

Ohhhhh this is a sore (pun intended) subject with me.

In order to keep riding, I have owned Walking Horses since 1990. I am strictly a trail rider. I retired to the literal “Heart of Walking Horse Country” in 2003 and got my eyes opened wide to shoeing practices that should have been banned before they ever got started.