Support for weak knee (rider's!)

LibLen

Jun 25, 2016
Hello all,

I'm new to the page and was unsure where to put this post so here it is!

I stopped riding and working with horses about 8 years ago due to not being able to afford it any more. Since then my level of fitness has just plummeted because it appears I take absolutely no enjoyment from any other form of exercise (who knew?!) which has led to subsequent weight gain. Now don't get me wrong, I've never been particularly slim but I used to be very fit. Around 10-11 years ago I got kicked in the knee by a (18hh) horse at college which has made my knee weaker than the other one. It gets stiff etc.

Basically I found myself in the position to keep my own again as I have found a yard which is incredibly reasonable and my daughter is horse mad so I started looking. I was after a chunky cob and looked at older and middle aged horses before meeting a youngster who I just clicked with. I fully understand the amount of work involved and have worked with youngsters previously and luckily a very experienced and good friend of mine will be my neighbour on the yard so I have support with him. He is being delivered a week Tuesday (July 5th) and although I know riding is a long way off (he's only 14 months) I wondered if anyone could recommend a good knee support for use whilst at the yard. I know when I'm more active and lose some weight my knee feels better due to less strain but obviously don't want to be in too much pain in the meantime.

I am so ridiculously excited about what the future holds for us and can't wait to get my boy home! It's taken me a few years to find a horse who I have felt a real connection with.

This has turned into a rambly post but I would be grateful for any suggestions :)

Reactions: GaryB
Hello