Volunteering with RDA?

izzy18

Aug 21, 2004
Up North!
Visit site
Does anyone on NR volunteer for the RDA? I work full-time, but have been thinking about asking if my local RDA needs volunteers at the weekends.
I've been riding for a couple of years or so, but have never owned a horse. Are there horsey things I could help out with and how regularly do you have to volunteer? I'd struggle to help out every weekend, but could probably do a few hours every other weekend or so.
When I was at school (more years ago than I care to remember!) I helped out the local RDA a few times by leading the horses around the school. Only got to go three or four times though as there were so many of us wanting to get involved, we were only rota'd on occasionally!! :D

i used to help at the driving for the disable, until it got too much as it was too far away for mum to drive. i used to go from 12 till 6 ish depending on how dark it was obviously winter we finished much earlier

i used to fill the nets for the week , clean the troughs groom the ponies (there was only 3) get them tacked and ready for driving, when there was a disabled client that booked assisted with that.

if there was no disable we either rode longreined or drove to exercise them, i did this every weekend unless i was unable to get there

it was hard at times but i learnt an awfull lot and has helped me now

hope this helps

ide ask around im sure theyd be greatful

Hey, I'm a group instructor and trustee for my RDA group, and have been volunteering for about 5 years. I started out mainly helping with the horsey side of things, grooming and tacking up the ponies before lessons, mucking out, untacking ponies etc. I then started leading and sidewalking, and after about a year was convinced to start training as an instructor! Now when i'm at home at uni I usually teach every weekend along with the other instructors, and absolutely love it.