why all the cantering worry & not galloping??

angel advocate

Aug 15, 2000
Visit site
I was just wondering why does all the messages revolve around fear of cantering and not galloping?? I was just wondering that, dont think i am being not understanding when i first started to canter i was scared poopless..I am a new rider and it was quite the scare i am ok now i think i am still learning but i am past the fear and that is the hardest part but i was wondering i thought i would see alot more fearful messages about galloping..Is it not harder and even more scary than a canter? I have not galloped as of yet but i can just imagine it must be really scary..I was surprised thats all that i didnt find more messages about that..is it that mmost people here havent done it or is it that once you can get past the fear of canter you can gallop no problem...Once you find your proper seat in canter can u galloip no problem? Also is galloping in a english saddle the same as in a western saddle? I know the english saddle has no horn and must be harder but is the seating the same? Anyways i was just wondering everyone seems so spooked at the canter but i havent heard to much about the gallop ( But i do understand the fear ive been there ) I was also thinking it was because riding schools take along time to pass by each step I never tookk lessons and i have been riding daily for 2 months but now i can canter ok..( Some horse friends taught me to ride and i know own my own horse) I would love to gallop but i am scared that it is way scarier than the canter but i am getting good at that.........oh and by the way i too did bounce alot when i was learning to canter etc. i couldnt find the right movemenet they say move your hips, sit deep.

anyways can someone tell me about this canter vs. galloping thing i would love to know why everyone is not more spooked by that......hope to hear from ya.....;)

[Edited by Sarah on 18th Aug 2000 at 10:01 AM]