A little introduction

Diana Pattenden

Feb 24, 2021
Hello, I've been riding for a while and two years ago bought my first ever horse of my very own. I am 54 and Leam, my Connemara is 20. He's a schoolmaster and I am learning. I used to ride at a riding school alongside my daughter when she was 8 years old and now she's 21 and working in a wonderful Event Yard and currently between owning horses having jus sold her lovely Timmy and looking for a new challenge. We both love riding and it bonds us massively. I am looking for like-minded people to chat about horsey things. I just put into the search engine 'I can't seem to get any better at riding' and found you guys! Looking forward to getting to know you and boosting my confidence and enjoying riding again.

Hi, welcome to NR :D There is this thing though Diana, you gotta pay the picture tax! ;) šŸ˜šŸ˜ if you can, we love seeing everyone's pony pictures here :D

• Haha
Reactions: Huggy
It doesn't look like I'm a 'new rider' here. This was my first ever fun ride and I wasn't intending on anything other than trotting round and watching the others go for it. As it happened it was the best ride of my life so far. Since then my confidence has plummeted. I have a lesson today that I am dreading and I don't seem to be able to execute the instructions and am stuck in a rut of rubbish technique.

Confidence can be so fragile, but there's always someone here to chat to :) It does look like you had a great ride that day and your lad is gorgeous :D

Reactions: Trewsers
005 (2019_11_01 15_03_43 UTC).JPG

If you are brave enough to go on a fun ride like that then your confidence will come back. i have a veteran who i bought when he was 19, he was a school master in theory but not in practice. He gets highly excited on fun rides, we try to do it solo if we can.