Advice: Buying a horse?

AliciaA

Sep 18, 2015
Hi guys,

It's been a while since I've been on the site - been super busy with work and family. I have still been riding though, once a week at a new riding school. I'm going very slow and working in walk and trot - I don't mind this so much as my stomach still does somersaults when I think about cantering.

Given that I'm still fairly new to riding, I gave up looking for a share or loan horse for a few reasons,
1. Couldn't find anywhere near by
2. Didn't feel confident enough
3. I'm quite possessive if something is mine and apologetic if it's someone else's. I feel like I'd be so afraid of doing something wrong.

This morning, I saw an advert for a horse advertised as a school master, he is a beautiful little Arab but he is only 5 years old. So my first question is, is it possible for a horse that young to be considered a school master and be the been there done that type? I ask because I was under the impression that they tended to be a bit older but I may be completely wrong. I have always loved Arabs but never specifically looked for the breed when thinking about a first horse. But in an ideal world, I'd love my first horse to be an Arab schoolmaster/school mistress - I don't want to be stuck with a horse who is too much horse for me to handle, knock my confidence and leave me with an expensive mistake.

EDIT: from the few responses so far, I think we all agree that such a young horse can't actually be considered a schoolmaster :p thanks guys! So not this horse, but any others, im still interested in your views in regards to my questions below

Again, because I've only been riding once a week since August, I expect the general advice would be not to consider buying my own for a while yet.
My head tells me that but if the advert is indeed genuine, I feel like I've fallen for the look of the horse (of course, if it came down to it, I know how important it is to judge the character and temperament too).