Advice on weight and feeding hay

ladywiththebaby

Mar 6, 2007
Cambridge
I'm new to all this - have just taken on my first loan pony. Shes a 17 year old, mixed breed although some TB and possibly some New Forest in her. Shes quite fine. In her previous home she was hacked, hunted and did Pony Club. Over last winter she was fed 1 scoop of Hifi Lite and 1 scoop of Conditioning Mix, once a day. She was clipped - not sure which one, possibly trace?

Now she has come to me, I will just be hacking once or twice a week in winter. No schooling, no hunting, just a leisurely 1 - 1.5 hour hack. Owners suggested I may get away with just clipping her neck and belly.

But I was wondering if she would also need the conditioning mix now that her work will be greatly reduced? She also wintered out in just a medium weight rug but I have bought a heavy weight one to keep her toasty. She will be coming in at night (which is what she is used to). I asked her owners who weren't much help - suggested I asked at the feed shop?!

Secondly - how much hay do I feed if she is out in the day and in at night? I think there is a % of her weight calculation I can do. When I weigh taped her around her girth she was about 450. But maybe I should have done it round her middle rather than so far forward??

Help please?! Thank you! :redface:

3-4 slices morning and evening of hay should be enough if you are only going to be leasurely hacking, I wouldn't bother with the conditioning feed and see how she goes. You don't want to hot her up and make her uncontrollable with too much hard feed.

A bib clip would be fine for the ammount of work she will be doing.

She will probably only need a heavy weight rug during the very worst of winter ie when there is snow and frost due.

My veteran IDx came out of last winter fatter than she went into it on add lib hay and in a LW rug unclipped.

Last edited: