Advise on bits!!!! Common one this eh!!

Gemma R

Natural Sparkle
Nov 22, 2001
Kent
Visit site
I am new to this sire - looks great - was after some advise :)

I have not long bought my New Forest Mare. She was sold with a cherry roller bit which for the first 6 weeks was fine - the following 6 weeks mind have been a bit painful on the old arms!!!!

She leans HEAVILY on her bit, doesn't engage her rear quaters at all - no matter how many transitions I ride, or circles we do. Since having her I have added a flash nose band as she was going above the bit by throwing her head inthe air and opening her mouth!! That worked for a week or so then she started going under the bit and sideways - my friend ridews her horse rather successfully in a market harborough so i thought I would buy and try one!!! This also worked for a short time!!!

the last couple of weekends hacking out she is getting VERY strong so much so that we have trouble stopping and her head is nearly on the floor!!! Not much fun for the old arms and back I can tell you.

I want to get the bondage off of her as it obviously isn't what is needed and I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on bits!! I want her to be more comfortable adn something obviously isn;t right!!

I speak to the woman how owned her previously (we're at eh same yard) but she didn't ride her often enough to get her fit and never had problems with the cherry roller. Now she is beig ridden regular all sorts of problems are appearing as I am asking more from her!!!

PLEASE HELP - Sorry for the essay!!! If anyone needs further info let me know!

Tricky one,this one,

I dont know if this will work for ur mare or not.
I used to ride my pony in a continental snaffle/dutch gag/bubble bit whateva u wanna call it.
This worked well as for evryday use i had it on the second ring but for competitions or rides where he got strong i had it on the bottom ring so it was slightly stronger and he knew i was still there!!