Apparel

Cynnycal

Oct 24, 2001
Chicago IL
Visit site
i'm still relatively new to all this, so someone explain this....
why do horseriders wear breeches? and what is the difference from jodphurs and breeches? which boots are better to get, paddock boots, or full riding boots, or sport shoes?

sorry, everyone seems to think that you just automatically know this stuff.

oh, and another one...
why are there some helmuts made that dont' meet safety requirements? isn't that the point of a helmut?
which helmets are best to use (for beginners)

and how much should these things cost you? and are there any good places online to buy them?
(oh, i ride english, if that helps)

nowadays there isnt a grand difference between breeches and jodphurs.
but initially breeches were designed to wear with long boots and jodphurs with short boots.

the main difference is that breeches have velcro straps at the bottom and jodphurs dont.

what to buy...buy whatever you find reasonable and fits and is comfortable.

long boots and short boots- as a first buy msot people would recommen short boots because they are cheaper and should you decide riding is not for you you can still wear them or sell them.

long boots are expesive and take a while to mould to your feet.
you can also get long pvc boots which lots of people find fine to ride in and others dont.

helmets good for beinngers - any helmet that meets the current saftey standards - velvet hat, jockey skull, the new style of hat that i dont know what it is called that showjumpers are wearing at the moment.

jockey skull has more bulk and if you get hot and sweaty your head willls weat alot so you might want to consider one that has air holes in them. but they can make your head look like a balloon and if you are self concious abotu the way you look make sure you look in a mirror when trying out hats :)