bad lesson

Toppie

May 18, 2016
Hi all, I haven't posted since I joined in May and love reading all the threads. It's all so fascinating!
Okay, so I don't have any 'horsey' friends and I'm hoping someone can give me some advice or guidance... I started riding lessons for 1/2 hour each week in July and a few weeks ago I also joined the weekly adult group lesson too and have been loving it. I'm currently mastering my sitting and rising trot and have been doing ok.
I had my usual slot this afternoon and for the first time I left feeling so deflated and unsure. today I rode a different horse, more responsive than the usual gent I ride, but it was like I'd taken 3 steps back. Everything I did was wrong, my arms were all over the place, my legs/feet where too far forward and I could not seem to get things right no matter how hard I tried and I think I also pee'd off my instructor too and it's been bugging me since. I know the problem was me but I have no idea why or how any of you can help tbh... but I guess What I want to know Is it normal to have off days or maybe I'm not quite cut out for riding!?? What to do...

Riding brings such huge highs when it goes well. There is no better feeling than jumping the perfect round, showing off in a dressage test or going for a blast.

However, riding also brings such lows! If you knock all the jumps, come last in dressage and your horse starts napping out hacking, you can feel pretty useless.

Everyone suffers the extreme highs and lows. Try not to dwell too much and look forward to the next time you ride.