barn sour, gate sour and inseparable pairs

ridehorses

Summer Days
Dec 8, 2002
Mississippi, USA
www.xanga.com
So, I've had Cotton and Trigger for about a month now. They're turned out together in a fairly large, grass-filled pasture 24/7, except when they come in to eat twice a day.
For those who don't know, Cotton's a 7 year old, 16 hh appaloosa/palomino gelding and Trigger's a 9 year old welsh pony who was formerly abused and is not broke. I gave them a week to settle when they arrived, then i started riding cotton daily out in our 28 acre hay field.
At first it was slow work, getting used to each other and it was good. After a while, we moved on to tougher work, walk - trot - canter, circles, etc. After a few days of real "work" he started refusing to go out into the hay field with out throwing a tantrum (backing up up up, and NOT stopping backing when i ask him to go towards the field until i take off leg pressure) We end up having a big argument, and when i finally get him out in the field, he's always bending + leaning back in the direction of the barn and trigger.
I don't have anywhere formal to ride, and when i try to ride him in the pasture, it's the same thing. He puts up an argument going away from the gate, and as soon as i get him away from it, he tries to turn and bolt back towards it.

Any advice on getting him to leave the barn/gate/trigger more willingly and safely? I can't even work with him when all that's on his mind is the barn. It's more of a big arguement then a ride.

I'm sure I remember you saying that their owner is very helpful and approachable - I'd ask him his advice, and ask if Cotton's ever done this before. Maybe the owner could come watch you ride?