Beginner Rider - Home Saddle? Good, bad, or crazy idea?

Hiernst

Jan 15, 2022
New York
Hello all,

I am a new rider (middle-aged) and a new member of this forum. I just started riding about two months ago and it has not been easy progressing since I've only been able to take one lesson a week (with some unfortunate, but unavoidable cancellations from the stable due to cold weather). I'm determined to improve myself as much as possible outside of my time there and was wondering if it was a good idea to buy even an old used English saddle with irons to set up at home - just to practice perfecting my seat, two point, leg/heel positions, etc. - when I can't be on a horse. I can't seem to find any advice for or against this idea, so I'm curious to know if anyone else has done this or has advice for/against. I don't own a horse, so it really would just be to use at home. Many thanks in advance for your thoughts or ideas.

I can't see it's going to do any harm, but I doubt it'll do much good either. Have you considered Pilates to improve your core strength and stability? That may be more useful.

A point to consider is that many cheap or old saddles have badly positioned stirrup bars which will be detrimental to a rider's position since they put you in a chair seat.

Thanks so much, carthorse. I think I'm rather OK on the core strength and stability exercise side --- I already do a bunch of bridges, planks, side planks, squats, dead bugs with weights, etc. I just feel like I don't have enough time to assess/adjust my own seat/leg placement on horseback, which is of course a very unique position and not easy to replicate at home. So, that's why I thought, perhaps with a saddle it might help. I'm particularly wanting to get correct leg placement and heels down (without getting pushed into the chair seat - so perhaps an old saddle is not a good idea), and I'm certainly working on calf stretches, ankle mobility, but again, on the ground is nothing like being on a horse. :)