Brand new to riding

Mistybelle

Mar 2, 2020
Hi all

I have just started learning to ride (had my second lesson on Saturday) and am really loving it so far!
I just had a couple of questions:

1) I appreciate that I am going to ache as I am building muscles that I have never used in this way before however, is it normal to bruise? I have noticed that I have bruising on my inner thighs and inner knees and they are quite sore for several days!

2) How do you stop the pony/horse from cutting the corners? I seem not to be able to get the pony I have been riding to go round two of the corners - it is worst whilst trotting but even during walking i cant get him to do it every time. :( I also have a problem keeping him trotting - though I found a very helpful post about that on here :)

Thank you in advance for any help - I am new to everything having never ridden before and am very appreciative :)

Reactions: Trewsers
Hi and welcome.
Yes you may well bruise to start with. Its possible that your are gripping with your legs to stay in the saddle. Especially when trotting. This is classic for a beginner. After a while as you become more at ease with riding bruises will lessen.
The only other possibility that happens to me is if i wear a thin pair of leggings when riding sometimes the saddle feels uncomfortable, in the bit wear the buckles for the stirrups are. I would suggest you wear some woolley tights or an extra pair of leggings for a bit until your more relaxed with the riding.
If you get bruises on your lower leg then this could be from the stirrup leathers pinching. This is easily resolved by wearing long riding boots of chaps over your short boots.
Ill leave others to advise on not cutting the corners. But i wouldnt worry to much as youve only had two lessons. Its something that will improve with time. Just enjoy your new riding bug.

Hi, welcome to NR :D