Can a serious competition pony become a hack?

ladywiththebaby

Mar 6, 2007
Cambridge
I've recently taken on a loan pony as my first horse. I was after a safe, sensible hack. I had been looking since March but really struggled to find anything at all, not just what I was after but just nothing was coming up at all.

Anyway, a lady from pony club called me asking me to come and look at her pony to see if I'd be interested. Been ridden by her daughter from 12 - 15 yrs old (although I only started riding as an adult so I'd consider a serious pony club child to be a better, more experienced, more fearless rider than me). The mum also hacked her out regularly - alone and in company. Had been a good competition pony before they bought her 4 years ago. The people that had her as a comp. pony wanted a quieter life for her when they sold her as her joints were showing a bit of wear and tear. So her current owners took her hunting, hacking and took her to PC but they now want an even quieter life for her as she had an episode of mild arthritis in January.

So I have her as a hacking and occasional sponsored rides kind of ride. I took her out for a hack when I tried her out and she was good but since bringing her home we had a load of tack stolen and so now can't ride. I only rode her twice (walk and trot only) before the break in and by the time we've replaced everything it'll be 3 weeks since she was last ridden.

BUT I have just discovered that this pony has won over £1000 BSJA, won at Pony of the Year Show, was in Horse and Hound for winning a Blue Chip qualifier, and won at lots of other championships.

She also went round the open Pony Club eventing championships being one of the smallest ponies with one of the youngest riders.

This freaks me out a bit. Have I completely overhorsed myself or is it completely irrelevant what she has done in the past? It was at least 4 or 5 years ago that she competed. :redface: