Can anyone help me please?

Fjord Lover 101

Aug 24, 2007
Hi,
I am new to this sight but I'm looking to find a horse riding (english or western style) holiday anywhere in the world. I was hoping to find one where I would be able to ride Fjord horses on. Does anyone know of a holiday that would suit me?

Please post, I've found my own searching hasn't found much.
Thanks.

You're right – it's not easy. I've found a couple for you, one in Norway, one in France; the people at the Fjord pony society might be able to help, and I'm sure there are places in Sweden and Norway, if you google a bit more.

http://www.equinetourism.co.uk/worldwidehorseholidays/norway.asp

Ferme Relais de la Baie de Somme
M. and Mrs Bizet - 25 rue de la Gare - 80860 MORLAY PONTHOILE
Tel/Fax : +33 (0)3 22 27 07 11
E-mail : bizet-thierry@wanadoo.fr
Activities : Hacks - accompanied rides - rides across the Somme Bay (tides permitting), Crécy Forest, salt marshes
Type of mount : Somme Bay horses and Fjord ponies
Accommodation : Lodge (30 beds).
Prices : 1h30 : 15 € ; 2 hrs : 25 €; 3 hrs : 31 €. Day ride : 61 € (picnic included). Week-end ride : 165 €
Opening period : Between 1/03 and 15/11.

Fjord Horse National Stud Book
Association of Great Britain (Fjord Horse Society of GB)
Cilyblaidd Manor
Pencarreg, Nr. Lampeter
Carmarthenshire, SA40 9QL
Tel: 01570 480 090
Fax: 01570 480 012

Thank you soooo much!

Thanks I'll take a look at them! I've only found 1 and its not a holiday for people without taking their own horse

I have no idea what the situation is like now, but Glen Tanar Equestrian Centre in Aberdeenshire used to have Fjords - they had a mare in use for lessons/trekking, two broodmares, foals and a stallion (who was rather fun to ride :) )

That was over 10 years ago now, but they're still open and as she seemed to be a Fjord enthusiast she may still have some (more than she had when I was there, even!).

No website that I'm aware of, but here's the details: