Confidence gone.

OneHoofBeat

Jan 24, 2017
I've been riding for about three years (officially. I never count the time where I just hacked a pony out.) And I've always rode pretty @sshole ponies. The first one would rear constantly when asked to move, didn't scare me. Then I moved onto another pony who would "deck" you in canter, she'd buck, rear and then spin so you didn't have a chance to stay on. Or she barged your legs into the gates and try and throw you over the fence. The third pony I rode would bolt off around the school for the fun of it, or she'd just bunny hop along. None of these scared me and I just got on with it. Learned to walk trot canter.
Was asked to ride an extremely laid back TB. I've ridden her before. She was foot perfect. Got her, did walk, trot. Then I asked for canter and she spooked. Dogs was barking behind her, a horse was going crazy near us and a child screamed. TB didn't see anything just heard it and she took off in gallop. She threw her head down and I flew over her head, Confidence in canter out the window.
The owner of the TB then paid a lesson for me to ride the TB in because I was too scared to get back on anything and ride again. I did walk, trot and canter but I didn't feel safe and all I could think about was "What if I fall off again?"
Few weeks down the line I was offered to part loan this cob, very laid back, ex riding school. never put a foot wrong, always looked after her rider - Hated canter - Would buck her way out of it. I gave her a shot, did walk and trot till I got my confidence up on her and then with a riding teacher I got her into canter (15 minutes after her bucking fit) But I knew I was holding her back,
Pony moved yard so I've ended up part loan something. Perfectly schooled, does walk, trot and canter.