Confidence Knocked - Fell off

AliciaA

Sep 18, 2015
for the first time since I started riding again..

… Then I fell a second time!

I had my 13th lesson yesterday.

We began the lesson working without stirrups (the entire lesson became working without stirrups). It was pretty good, I love LOVE riding without stirrups as it feels so much more comfortable and my seat and position is much better. I was riding the same horse as last week - Tyzer.

I think I was a bit nervous because of the previous week where I didn't feel like I was in control as much when Tyzer kept going off into canter. I was really trying not to grip too much and stay a bit quieter in the saddle which seemed to be working.

All was going well until I was asked to canter.
Every time I tried to go in to canter I felt myself slipping to one side. My balance just didn't feel right and I would half halt and ask Tyzer to slow down. My RI kept telling me to just go for it and my body would respond and just go with the motion. So after a couple of failed attempts to get in to canter (nerves!) I finally cantered.

The canter lasted one length of the school until I felt myself slipping again - I totally panicked and realise now that I must've gripped which only made the unbalanced feeling worse :/ I pulled on the reins (I know I'm not meant to but it was a reflex) - Tyzer slowed down but I was already falling. I know I screamed as I fell and hit the ground. Luckily it was quite soft and wet (not sure if it being wet was a good thing!) I didn't hurt myself except for a slight ache in my neck.

My RI said that I had fallen off in walk - I tried to explain my balance feeling off and she told me where I was going wrong. i.e. gripping, reins should be longer and she told me to lengthen and hold on to the front of the saddle if I need to.