Diagonals, trot poles and first canter off lunge

LeilaLei

Jul 18, 2023
Every lesson is something new. In the last two riding lessons (yes arena this time) I started learning to change diagonals at the trot, trotting over poles up in two point, and cantered in the round yard with no lunge line.
Changing diagonals was a real mental challenge (having to break from my rising rhythm). The poles and two point really wore my legs out. The canter was tricky as he was going too close to the side (a few clangs of stirrup iron). I had to hold the monkey grip with the outside rein and use the inside to keep him off the sides. A lot to think about at the time but I managed to keep it not too messy. But I had a mini ankle roll to the outside on the right side (my weaker leg) which totally surprised me. After a couple of minutes, I went back to my lesson, trotting and cantering. I think it should settle. Just thinking now, wow another mental hurdle cleared without the lunge line. It's getting a little bit less nerve-wracking every time : )

• Love
Reactions: GaryB and Jessey
Riding instructors are like that 🤣. Learn to do this (rising trot). Now you have that let's change that completely (changing diagonals). You just think you have cracked something and then they add something else to make you more confused 🤣. Your head is left spinning with all the things you have to think about. Think of your right shoulder, your left heel, one elbow, the other seat bone. Not forgetting your right thumb and left ring finger.....

Well done!