Does anyone else get saw knees after riding?

horse_converted

Oct 30, 2006
Brisbane Queensland
Hi i am having lessons twice a week now. after i do my rising trot still learning at it. when i get off and start walking my knees hurt and if i have to skwot i am so much pain. i have bad knees from dirt bike riding for ten years. ( getting to personal with the ground lol) I am wondering if anyone els has trouble with bad knees? if so is there ecercises that can help that?

i dont get sore knees only aching in the inside of my legs!! maybe try and get a knee support from boots they come in all sorts of sizes and strengths etc.

I've been riding for about 2 years now and never had this happen...until this Thursday night in my Jump class!

I just attributed to too much 2-point (say that fast!) over the hour lesson, but I think I may have been pinching with my knees a bit. Make sure that no matter how much you use those thigh and calf muscles, keep the knees relaxed and only use them as shock absorbers, if that makes sense.

Ask your RI, too...might have a different perspective. :)

Yes, I do because I've got arthritis in my knees from all the walking (and riding) that I've done and am still doing.​

no i haven't used any supports before. yeah i asked my ri if i could lower my stirps. i told her about my bad knees and that. i tryed that but my rising trott went to the toilet lol. so she said to help with my kness we will do more sitting trott instead and that will help with my knees and my legs being in the right place so i can get the rising trott with out to much pain. i will still b doing some rising trott too she said.it has been good until the last few weeks too which is strange

it may be that you are just using muscles that havent been used for a while and they are getting a bit strained, I have heard pilates (sp?) is good? I have just got one of the balls but keep falling off :eek: :mad: :rolleyes: :D