eeek am entering 1st EVER dressage test - what do i need?

sprollie

Jul 29, 2007
chester le street, durham
Hiya everyone,

Have just done an unwise thing this morning:D in the excitement of my first proper lesson with new horse Grace I think I have just unwittingly agreed to enter a walk and trot dressage in 2 weeks time!! :eek:

I have no idea what to expect, would be grateful for any experiences, advice tips etc.

what do i wear? what does grace wear? what will the set test be if it is an "Intro B walk & Trot test ( seniors) "

its just at a show hosted by a local livery that I can just ride up to on the day so no travelling issues but am still terrified of riding in front of people:eek: I only started riding a year ago and have been lucky enough to own a heavy cobx during that time who was an angel but I couldnt afford him AND the lessons so have developed multitude of bad habits and have only ever really hacked out in w/t/and a little canter. so no experience of shows and things at all - everyone always seems to know exactly what they are doing and I feel like when i go up someone will be recording me for you've been framed :D

any help much appreciated, thanks guys
xx

You'll be fine.
Intro B is available from British Dressage or Dressage Diagrams - I've never ridden it, so not sure what it contains!

As for what to wear:
You: pale jods/breeches, long boots/convincing gaiters, pale shirt + tie or stock, any type of showing jacket, hard hat - whip allowed.
Horse: any authorised bit (check British Dressage but includes all snaffles), saddle, girth, discrete numnah ....
:D

And remember to Smile! at the judge :)!

((just want to point out it only includes 'all' snaffles in one sense of the word - snaffle cheekpieces yes, but a snaffle can have any range of mouthpieces but only some are dressage legal. No hooks allowed on bit such as some mylers have either irrelevant of whether or not you are using the hooks.))