Ending a part loan I need help...

pinkcauliflowercat

Jan 19, 2023
Hello,

I really some advice. I've been loaning a horse 1 day a week for a couple months now, and I feel like it's going no where.

My loan's on a strict routine everything needs to be done in an order and at certain times which I understand however due to this I can't ride him in the mornings currently. But the last couple of weeks I have been told by the owner 1/2hours before I'm meant to ride that I can't ride him in the afternoon either due to weather etc, so I've lost out on my day of riding a few times.

I still have to go and muck out and do the jobs etc in the morning/evening and sometimes end up mucking out a couple times a day due to people being busy in the week. My loan is also unable to trot on hacks which is difficult when out with others as he is slow and cannot canter due to being unfit and I cannot ride him for more than 25 mins.

The owner is very full on as I understand as she needs to trust someone but it has been a couple months now and it is very constant. I feel like ending it as I can't progress with him but I don't know how, I see people having so much fun with their loans and I can't even trot/canter mine. It's been stressing me out a lot as I feel like I'm letting them down but I need to put myself first as at the moment I am just paying someone to muck out their horse :(

I had this with a loan i had, the owner constantly changed the days - i had saturday - and often i was unable to ride at all, so i told the livery yard where he was kept. They had a word and it improved for a while then she sold him. I would just get out of it. It's bad enough owning a horse and not being able to ride but it's a bit much when it is a share arrangement. OK once in a while but not longterm

Reactions: Huggy