Falling as an older rider

Chile Pepper

Pumpkin
Mar 31, 2005
Chile
I hardly ever post in this section (don't really post much at all), but I have been having some doubts that only "mature riders" can address. I am 41, and I started riding nine months ago. I take two to three lessons a week (mostly private, with an hour to an hour and half of riding). I feel that I have made real progress, although there is plenty of room for improvement (position, hands). I am not a nervous rider--I really look forward to my lessons.

My doubts involve falling. I have only fallen off twice, but both falls resulted in injuries (dislocated elbow, broken foot). I have always assumed that falling off was (a) something that was bound to happen on occasion and (b) generally no big deal. Are the injuries simply inevitable with an aging body? Or have I simply had bad luck in how I've landed? Is there a "better" way to fall? The last time I fell, it was from a canter, and i was on the ground almost before I realized I was off the horse--so I don't see how I could adjust my falling position. This is really making me question the wisdom of continuing, as I much as I love it. My husband has gone so far as to suggest I take up driving shetlands! What is your experience with falls, and how do you manage the risk?

I'm 47 and have been quite lucky in that although I've had a few falls, I've never been seriously injured (touches wood!!) I've had a fractured finger, twisted muscles, sprains, etc. I do find, however, that as I get older I'm not as fearless as I was when I rode as a child. I'm afraid we don't bounce as well!

ANN H said:
I'm afraid we don't bounce as well!

That's exactly what worries me. If I could just fall once and not require medical attention, I would probably feel better about the situation. Not that I'm trying to fall off...

7 falls make a good rider?