feeding advice for my cob-help!

K

Kate&TheHerd

well, over winter my cob has lived out. I've fed her a scoop or less of alfa with a hand full of cool mix. I then cut this right down to just alfa. shes moved onto a new field, iv sectioned it off as was lush grass so she doesnt have much. I have also been bringing her in at night. shes alright but maybe slightly over weight. i got some hi-fi light (spur of the moment thing) as i like feeding her a bit of alfa with her supplements seaweed, garlic and this 'in one scoop you get all your supplements thing'. is this right, or what should i be giving her? i like giving her something as i say with her supplements. iv seen baileys lo-cal good doer as well, should i try this? help its my first year (not even a year) with her so im confused :confused:

edited to ad: i forgot to say what i do with her! we go out for an hour-hour and a half good hack, mainly walking and trotting 3 or 4 times a week including jumping in the woods, schooling and jumping :)

Last edited by a moderator:
I have the same issues as you do. Joy is a good doer and last year was my first year as an owner :D

Hi fi lite is good, you can swap to Good Doer which has even less in it if you need to but I have tended to stick with Hi fi lite in summer just to add supliments in.

Many cobs don't actually require extra feeding on top of their forage for energy requirements but do still need their balanced diet which is why I give a token feed for suppliments just as you do.

The trouble I have had up until a couple of days ago was that since the grass came through Joy wasn't interested in her bucket feed and only wanted nice juicy grass.

However in the past week I have upped her work rate and she has wanted her feed after being worked thank goodness but a mineral lick was popped into the field with the 2 mares have been crunching on :rolleyes: