Following on from my wwyd post

So a month ago I asked what you would do if you were me and your landlord had just doubled your rent to £30 a week per horse. At first I agreed with all of you that said stay and so that was decision made.

However, pretty much everyone around me has made me change my mind.

Now on paper the yard is fab, mains electric and water floodlit school only me on the yard.

However, the school needs redoing, really badly needs redoing. Not likely to happen anytime soon YO had said as much.

Fields are fertilised by me, not a problem as the rent was so cheap. Fencing is also fixed by me, again not a problem as it was so cheap. Basically all maintenance is done by me.

The likelihood of that changing is nil! I've been asking him for over two years to fix the electric fencing so it works properly off the mains. It only got done yesterday and still not sending much voltage out!

So I've had a look about, and found some land, first field I can move into rent free until he sells it ( he's got a very unrealistic price range in his head so not likely to be any time soon and it's not currently on the market) all I have to do is keep it tidy.

There is a bit of land directly next door to that which will come available in a few months and all he wants is £20 a week for around 6 acres in total. Plenty for me. Plus a very sheltered bit for them for the winter.

No facilities but he will help me get water put on and the money I'm saving in livery I will be saving up to get a container and genny with lights for the winter. The sharers are willing to keep their livery at the £20 a week mark for a year or 18 months to enable us to save money quicker and get these things quicker and be set for winter.

The bloke I will rent from is pretty much happy for us to do what we like with the place!

So I think I may be telling them both today I want their land :).

I should have the other bit for around 6 months at least which is great!