For those who run a business - what kind is it?

Roxy's Mum

Jul 21, 2009
Dorset
I guess this is rather nosey of me...

... but following own from the thread re starting one's own company, which is something I have thought and do still readily think about, who on here owns their own company - and doing what?

I have seen an internet company for sale I'm very interested in - just wondering how everybody else started out?

ETA: And how did you get started? (If you don't mind my asking :biggrin:)

Last edited:
My family runs a tax advisory service for merchant Seamen. Basically guys that work out of the UK at sea can be eligible for tax relief so we sort this out for them and claim it back.

I'm still learning the ropes so don't run the company yet but my Dad is wanting to retire soon so my sister will take the helm as the overal boss and I'll be second in command and taking over her role as general HR manager type person as well as tax advisor.

My dad used to be a director of another tax company doing the same thing but got sick of all the BS and so set up on his own (taking most of his clients with him from his previous company!:giggle) and literally set up an office in the dining room of our old family home with just him and a receptionist! 15 years later we work from an old pub building and theres about 16 staff in total and we have around 3500 clients which is still constantly growing!

Good luck with whatever you decide to do!

I am a self employed adult placement carer (like fostering for adults with learning disabilities) and we have 3 ladies who live with us as part of our family. We sub contract to social services effectively.