Full Livery versus Assisted DIY

cobmum

Sep 13, 2009
Middlewich
So i have been thinking a lot lately about how i will need to keep my furture horse, i work very random shifts which are different each week so there is no way that i could do DIY livery.

However, having seen a few tack shop adverts i would be looking at having to pay £100/£120 a week minimum for 5 day full livery! Although i am sure that these places provide a good service i do feel that its quite steep, I live in south manchester ...so maybe not?

Does anyone have there horse assisted DIY and what kind of service would this entail?

I work away sometimes and also couldn't do DIY so I am on part livery. (Thank goodness as I have been in bed with the flu for a week!)

My livery is £105 a week and includes turning out, bringing in, mucking out etc. But no exercising, grooming. Also includes use of indoor school, outdoor school, round pen and jumping field in the summer. All haylage, bedding and hard feed.

As a novice I have found this great, but if work permitted I would like to do more.

£100 a week for 5 day full livery does seem expensive for up north. Does that include grooming and exercising?

Last edited:
Sorry I know this isn't meant for me as I'm just on grass livery but woah - I couldn't afford a horse if I had to pay that!
I just have to rely on a very nice horsey pal to check my boy on the occasion that I can't make it but he's out 24/7 so it makes things a bit more manageable.

At mine DIY is approx £200 with no extras, just box and grazing but can add extras on for extra cost.
Assisted DIY is the same as part livery except mucking out, so... box, grazing, turnout, bring in, put feed in, rug change etc and is around £350 per month.
Part is everything other than exercising and grooming as is around £450
Full livery is everthing and is almost a whopping £600 per month.