Grazing Advice

cully_c

May 13, 2009
Falkirk, Scotland
Hi,

I have been riding for many years and am looking to get my own horse. But what we are intending to do is a bit of an 'escape to the country' to a property where I can keep the horse at home. A property we have found (which would need some work before a horse could be introduced) could provide a field approx. 1 acre once work is complete. (Stabling etc would be seperate to this) Is this enough to keep a horse on? I have always ridden horses at places with 10's of acres, who are out 24/7, so I have, I admit, never really learnt what the minimum acreage is or any other routine other than out in the field all the time.

What concerns me is that the field would never get a chance to rest, unless I started splitting the field in half for a few weeks to rest each side (is that even feasable?) Can a horse be kept on land this small? I assumed I would be supplementing his diet? Could he be stabled for short periods so he is not on the land 24/7?

There may (although we havent investigated) be the chance of buying more land or at least renting some, which I would do. But in the event that this is not possible is it workable?

It would only be the one horse and some kind of companion animal eg a goat or two? Would a shetland or donkey be okay in your guys opinion? Or am I asking to much of my small plot!!

Here endeth my list of questions! It would be great to hear people's views, I have looked everywhere and there are such differing views from 'I have 1/2 an acre for my horse and we do fine' to 'you need 3 acres per horse minimum'!

yes, you have to get a companion, an equine at that (shetland is probably better than a donkey ...). i think the idea is an acre per horse but you could always put hay out and split the acre in half to rest some of it. at the end of the day, its a personal choice ... as long as the horses have enough to eat (be it hay or grass) and space to run around in :)