grooming tips 4 new rider?

ponypalz

May 24, 2009
Hello!
I'm a novice rider who didn't get started until my mid-30's. I am totally addicted to horses (I love everything about them), but, sadly, I have many fear and confidence issues, as well. I was wondering if anyone had any tips for grooming a very sweet pony's tail (if the groomer is afraid to stand behind the pony). I'm entered in a grooming class in a small schooling show and I'd really like to make a good effort, but I'm very afraid to stand near the behind any horse for any length of time. I'd also appreciate any tips that you might have to win a grooming class.

Thank you loads for any advice.

I've never heard of a grooming class before!

Anyway, I normally stand slightly to the side of the hindquarters facing the tail. Run your hand down their bum so they know what you are doing (firmly so it doesn't tickle) then take the tail in your hand (so it is pulled sideways slightly) and brushed from there! :)

Good luck and welcome to NR :D

Hello!
I'm a novice rider who didn't get started until my mid-30's. I am totally addicted to horses (I love everything about them), but, sadly, I have many fear and confidence issues, as well. I was wondering if anyone had any tips for grooming a very sweet pony's tail (if the groomer is afraid to stand behind the pony). I'm entered in a grooming class in a small schooling show and I'd really like to make a good effort, but I'm very afraid to stand near the behind any horse for any length of time. I'd also appreciate any tips that you might have to win a grooming class.

Thank you loads for any advice.