Heavy Feet

ploddycob

I love chunky cobs!
Sep 6, 2005
Teeside
does anyone struggle with picking out their horses feet? I have an irish cob, and it kills me picking his feet out as he is soo heavy?? anyone else have this problem?? or am i just a wimp... :D

As Sadie gets more and more muscled up, it's definitely been getting harder. When I started riding her, she looked like she was about eight months pregnant, because she was, well, fat. ;) But she's been getting all buff now, and as those muscles in her hind-legs get bigger, those legs get heavier to pick up.

I can sympathise with you.

I used to rest Monac's hoof on my thigh to pick out feet, but found he was more likely to lean his weight on me. I've found that if I just support his toe with my hand, it discourages the leaning.

(Must admit, whenever my hubby is around, I get HIM to do it for me!)

If he's leaning on you it's just bad-manners. No horse should be 'heavy'. You can't possibly be expected to carry his weight - if so, we would never be able to pick out the clydesdales and shires feet ;)

You need to get him to carry his own weight. Before you pick his foot up, make sure he's standing square with the three other legs. Use your voice and hand (and possible a dig in the shoulder/hip if he refuses) to get him to shift his weight onto the other legs. Then pick up his foot. Once you've got it, don't let him lean. I find that if they do, a sharp upwards push makes them shift the weight. OR by holding onto a small chunk of feather - it's uncomfertable for them to lean on the legs and pull the hair.

Of course, make sure he's not doing it because he's unbalanced of sore, but mostly they're just being bad-mannered :rolleyes: . Pink's a large heavy cob with HUGE feet but most the time I don't even need to hold her foot - she holds it up for me.

Last edited by a moderator:
What Pink's Lady said :)