Hello Everyone, I'm new (but old!)

Little Dolphins

Nov 8, 2005
Great to find a forum which I feel able to join! Going to be 50 next April, preparing to get my 1st Horse, must be mad. But it's now or never.
Never is probably safer and cheaper...but....

I'd love to hear what you think-who out there has spent AGES getting up the nerve(and the cash) to go for it? What made you get it sorted?

Got two grown sons, got v.nice husband (no.2)!, got 2lovely whippets, I'm a trained artist and paint in my studio, have been a school teacher for decades, now I'm returning to my teenage fantasy. Oh, how it could all go terribly wrong ......

Anyone?

:eek:

Welcome to the forum Little Dolphins :) Have you found yourself a horse yet or are have you just started looking? I bet you are so excited!

I'm Jo, I'm 35 and have 3 sons, a hubby (No. 2 also), 2 boxers, the usual fish, rabbit and guineapig, and am 6 weeks into ownership of Pumpkin, my dream come true horse.

My advice... go for it! You say how things could go terribly wrong, but they could also go terribly right too! ;) Hope you've prepared the family for the messy house (no time for housework), the stinky clothes, the horse equipment lying around all over the place, the muddy boots.... My husband reckons I'm not his wife anymore, he now calls me Emmerdale lady :rolleyes: But its SUCH good fun, I wouldn't have it any other way :D

Hello and welcome to NR!

I am another older rider, not as agile as I used to be but still enjoy my ponies.
I think you are quite brave to be getting your first horse but it is very exciting. Only make sure you get the right one and keep it where there is good help and advice, you will be fine.

What sort of horse are you looking for? My own preference is for large natives and I keep Highlands plus an old coloured cob given to me by a lady of eighty who finally decided it was all too much.