Help!

greenrider

Apr 30, 2001
Visit site
My boyfriend is TRYING to teach me to ride. He's patient but doesn't understand that my confidence level is not where he thinks it should be. I'm very green and have only had about 6 or 7 lessons. I'm also a mature beginner (over 30 and no previous experience with horses). I've learnt to mount, but I am still nervous everytime I go to get on Asia (a beautiful grey Arabian). I have more confidence in the riding ring but when we try to go for a walk on a trail I lose it all; especially on the way back and when she trots a little bit faster. I forget everything I've learned and cannot control her; all I want to do is get off. I really do want to learn how to ride but for some reason I seem to lose all confidence in myself and trust in Asia. Any suggestions on the confidence and trust issues?

When you are riding out on a trail does he walk with you? If not ask him if he will walk beside you or find someone who will. It is amazing how much confidence you feel if you have someone on the ground.

Miriam

Hi greenrider, just wanted you to know that I too am a 30 something and I had no experience of horses whatsoever until I started riding in November last year. When I first climbed the horse I thought NO WAY! THIS IS NOT FOR ME! I was terrified! Here I am now in April and just starting to learn how to canter. I adore riding and cannot wait for my next lesson all the time, I am an addict.