Hi

Sunshinecandy

Jun 4, 2016
Cannock, Staffordshire
Hello, I am so pleased I that have came across this forum. I am 52 and wondered if I was a bit old for this hobby but now I feel more reassured. I have such a love for Horses I find it rather addictive. I started riding around 4 years ago but after a nasty fall which put me completely out of action for 7 months I lost my nerve and confidence. I have only started riding again a few months ago but I am so nervous especially upon mounting.
Does anyone have this fear?
Sunshine candy :)

Getting on and off is like taking off and landing in a plane, potentially dangerous, more so than riding along or flying along.

One thing I insist upon is a horse who stands still on mounting and remains still until I say go.

You're not alone. I hate mounting even though my saintly mare will stand like a rock until I'm ready to move. I still worry about the saddle slipping or that she'll move away from the block before I'm on properly. Once on board I am much happier!

Getting off is easier since at the end of the ride we walk on a free rein to the centre of the school and stop to discuss the lesson with RI. She is guaranteed to stand still then. I don't dismount the BHS way - feet both out of the stirrups and swing your leg over - I keep my left foot in the stirrup, stand in that stirrup until I can get my right leg over, then kick my left foot free and slide gently down.

I can get on by myself now but for a long time had to have someone at the mare's head to make sure she didn't move.

Of course you're not too old - at 52 you're in your prime! There's quite a few of us on here that would love to be 52 again......