Horse way too slow!

Hi Try not to use your legs the whole time, as this will make the pony dead to the leg and make it switch off. Use your leg gently, then a bit firmer, and if there is no response tap tap with the crop. This is a much better way than kick kicking the whole time. Make sure that your seat is balanced and when you ask the pony to go forward give with your hand. If you are pulling back slighter through the transition this will just confuse the pony.Does your instructor get you to do lots of transitions to make sure your pony is listening to you? Hope this helps

Make sure that your position is right, a lot of riding school horses will go slow, slow down or stop if you tip forward even a millimetre ... it's a safety thing and GREAT for absolute beginners but not so good if you're jumping :D

Lots of transitions, lots of circles, serpentines, shallow loops to get the horse 'switched on'. Some horses benefit from a canter fairly early on to get 'revved up'.

Why not ask your instructor what the 'buttons' are?

I used to ride a ploddy coloured cob. Some days the damn thing wouldn't move and would even park in the middle of the school with you flapping around like a fish out of water. My instructor told me that she could jump 4' and had done Medium dressage. Yeah, right, I thought.