Horse won't move!

Seabiscuit

Nov 14, 2006
I'm getting a bit frustrated with my horse!!! A bit of background - he's a 4 year old big welsh D, very lovable and friendly but constantly tries it on! I have had him since he was 18 months old and we have worked very hard on our groundwork since then. Last October he went to stay at a Kelly Marks Recommended Associate's yard for 4 weeks of basic starting/backing with the idea that I would continue the training over the winter. Once he returned however we had issues with saddle fit that went on for a while (which taught him the art of bucking)...this was sorted out with the help of poohsmate :), but then with the dark evenings I wasn't able to do much with him.

After the saddle issue was resolved I have been trying to continue his education but I'm finding it very hard....I started riding him in the field and was bucked off twice, and he tried when out on the road so I lost confidence. Now in the field if I'm trying to ride him and we head away from the gate or in a direction he doesn't want to go he just stops completely and won't budge...I'm scared of pushing him too much as I know what he's capable of!!

The same now happens with lungeing (which he used to be great at) and long reining - when he can't be bothered to move he will just plant himself. Nothing I do makes him move. I've tried leaping about etc, even a carrier bag rustling, I seem to have done such a good job of desensitising him to things that he just isn't bothered!!!! He just looks at me with a bored expression which has lead me to think perhaps he is bored just being in his field all the time. Even when doing groundwork in the field now his latest trick if he can't be bothered is grab the lead rope in his mouth so that I can't use it to lead him! He's very bright.....