How long have you been riding?

Happy Hacker 01

Jul 8, 2009
Ok, so I have really stolen this post from H&H! :eek:

Most people on H&H seem to have been riding since they were tiny and most at 20 years +

I started riding when I was 9 at a riding school & gave up when I was 11. Got back into it at 19 for 6 months or so, then another break! (Couldn't afford lessons then!) Now at 26 I've found Shads, and have been riding again since last May....No way am I giving up this time!! :D

Still very much a novice though! Please tell me there's some more people on here who weren't 'born in the saddle!!' :p

I have a photo of me sitting on mum's horse aged about 3 months!! But I didn't start lessons til I was 12ish, got a loan at 15-17, then pretty much stopped completely for about 12 years. Now been back in the saddle for about 9 years and don't intend to stop until I physically can't ride anymore!!

I have been riding since i was about 6 and i'm now 30, did have a break for about 4 years when i had my daughter, then bought another horse.

I first started riding about 30 years ago. I haven't been riding regularly for all that time though and the riding I like to do means that I'm still very much a novice and shall for ever remain so. I bought my first horse 3 years ago.

I used to ride a bit when I was little. My auntie has always had horses and I would go over to hers and have a little walk and trot. Never had lessons though.

I then started having lessons when I was about 20, and had lessons on and off since then and in between having two children.

Before having children I had loads of confidence. Would jump and jump without stirrups and without reins :eek:

I am now 36 and worry loads. I dont jump anymore.

I have ridden continuously for the past 6 years.

I have owned my 3 horses now for 2 1/2 years and absolutely love dressage as my boy Trakehner is a complete dressage star :D