How much hay should i give my horse???

M

*MoneyTalks*

Hiya
well i have a 14.2-14.3hh bay gelding, 9yo, and atm he is having 2 sections of hay for morning, and 2 at night,,,
would you say thats about right???
im not sure how much he weighs lol:p

Hmm this is tricky.

Depends on his work load and how much grazing, for a horse that is out in the day 2 at night is prob ok but IMO 2 in the morning too is a bit much...what breed is he? Is he a good doer?

I really think you should weight tape him to get a better idea tbh.

However I am still learning about all this so those with more knowledge may correct me!

I don't personally think there is such thing as 'too much' hay. I personally would just feed ad lib - if he eats it, feed it. Sometimes my 16.2 WB yearling will eat a bale in a day if she has to stay in!

xx

Molly is 14.2hh and 10 yo. She eats 3-4 sections overnight when out during the day. When she is in 24/7 she will eat about double that (6-8kg overnight roughly and 5-6kg during the day)

Is he eating it all or leaving it? If she is eating it all I'd probably up it a bit.

I feed ad lib, when I feed 3-4 sections overnight she will have about half-1 section left, depends what time she comes in and I go up.

he is eating it all he is ridden most days, atm he isnt being turned out due too mud fever :l , but normally everyday he is turned out :D

Aww poor boy :( in that case it sounds ok but if he is eating it all up and not having any for a few hours he might need a bit more.

You probably already know this, but if the haynets are a bit heavy split into two as it's easier to tie up and takes them a bit longer to eat it.

my boy had a hay rack,, yes i can imagen him saying now, feel sorry for me i have mud fever lol,:rolleyes:

well 1 section normally lasts him 3-4 hours?

Erm I doubt it if he is in all the time!