How soon can you consider buying your own horse?

AliciaA

Sep 18, 2015
Hi all,

I started riding a couple of months ago but have always loved horses. I actually rode about 10 years ago until I got thrown off my horse because he got spooked by the riding instructor :oops: - This was when I lived abroad in the Emirates and he probably wasn't qualified (didn't know much about what qualifications he should've had at the time)..

Anyway, I have been looking around for a horse share and think I've found one which I'm hoping will be great for confidence building and an alternative to lessons once I have the basics down.

So my question is, how soon is it okay to look at buying your own?

I'd really like my own some day but am wary of becoming 'over horsed' (I think that's the term I've seen being used). I wan't to do this the right way and am aware of the fact that it is expensive to keep a horse (I've read that it ranges between 8-12k a year on full livery - please correct me if i'm wrong!)

Sharing is a really good stepping stone before buying, no stable management class/lesson really prepares you for those decisions you need to make alone like when your horse goes lame miles from home out on a hack or gets injured in the field and you discover it after everyone else has left the yard for the night! and what feed do you choose and why ;) sharing gives you a lot of insight and knowledge :) I think how soon you can buy your own depends on your support network, experience and confidence, you can't really put a time on it :)

I'd say my horse costs about £500 a month, all in. She is on DIY livery and I have weekly lessons, and a horsebox, and she eats a lot and needs a lot of shoes! There's no real getting round the fact that horses are expensive, unless you have your own land.