I discovered why I am scared of riding in enclosed spaces and being watched...

Joyscarer

Dec 30, 2006
Hampshire
Background

It's not just a case of hating it, I won't do it at all (I have tried to do 5-10 mins in the riding paddock when nobody's about but find reasons not to) and it is impacting on Joy because she needs to be schooled, as do I! She's a great fun hack though, as am I!

I started learning to ride as a 7 year old child out on hacks round my local town. It wasn't a proper riding school and there was a big gap in my knowledge of technical side of riding and doing anything other than hacking which included galloping and jumping where possible (as you do when you are young!) and coping with hacking in every situation a town can throw at you.

Up until yesterday I thought that the only formal lessons I'd had were as an adult returning to riding, I now know this isn't the case. I'd always thought that I'd NEVER had a group lesson and that any formal lessons were only as an adult returning to riding and been private because of me being self concious about my weight but this isn't the case either (although it doesn't help).

The reason

The night before last I had a dream. In it I relived a formal group lesson I'd had at a riding school as a PE option when I was 15 and at senior school. That's where the problem came...

Before my first lesson I was watching the end of the lesson before mine. I was told horse I was going to be riding and he was in that lesson. He was very hot and sweaty and obviously unhappy having been used for an hour already and the riding kept smacking him with the whip to push him on. I was just about to ride him for my hour lesson. I found out he was called Selwyn and that he was 28 :eek: